Bad things come in big packages: Part 2

On the way home from a doctor’s appointment this morning, I found myself stuck in quite a jam at a roundabout. Then I remembered, Costco opens today.

For those of you who don’t regularly read my blog, please take a look at this post.                 Bad things come in big packages: The real costs of Costco

I get it. Most people love Costco. Obviously people like to save money. Sometimes, there are limited other options because the big stores have eliminated them. But, when you step back and look at the bigger picture, there are so many other costs to big box stores that were never considered.

I wrote this post two and a half years ago, when the store was still up for debate.  Now, I knew at the time that there was no stopping Costco, but I had hoped at least there would be SOME discussion that would take place among our politicians and in our community.

Perhaps we could have had some discussion about:

– Economic costs and the risks to small business

– Environmental costs

– Social and cultural costs

– Health and safety costs

(Please see linked article for my full discussion of these issues).

 No.

The ONLY discussion I heard in this community was over the traffic. But, those concerns were supposedly adequately addressed to the satisfaction of Council, and the Costco moved forward quickly.

So, it was with a heavy heart that I watched the cars inch through that roundabout, drivers carrying wallets full of dollars that they will use to vote for the direction of our community. Now, I’m far from perfect in my spending habits, and you could say I have no right to throw stones, but I’m still putting this out there, also as a reminder to myself. There may be one big election in the US today, but make no mistake, we are voting in a very significant way, every single time we pull out our credit cards.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

