Venturing into the Wide World of Health

Hello folks,

I have decided to expand my blog topic a little, and include discussions about health. Social health, physical health and mental health are all so closely linked to our communities, to nature and to the physical environment, that they fit well with my original topic. Much of my research, community volunteer work, and interests (not to mention parenting duties!) have focused on the subject of health as well.

The World Health Organization defines “Health” as “a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.”

I like this definition. For too long, health was simply defined as the latter (the absence of disease or infirmity). There are so many other elements of health to address. While I believe we are moving towards a more comprehensive approach to health, we still have a long way to go. Health cannot adequately be addressed by giving the sole responsibility to medical practitioners. A healthy community is the responsibility of our politicians, planners, teachers, business owners, police officers, parks managers, teenagers, voters … (ok, everyone!).

So, I hope you will bear with me.

I’m not sure where I’m going with this (or when I will even start), but it opens up the door for new topics!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Venturing into the Wide World of Health

  1. I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

