A Question for YOU!

Hi Readers,

Over the past year and a half of writing this blog, I have shared many of my favourite places.

Like this one.

And this one.

And also this one.

I’d love to hear about some of yours, particularly if you live in Southern Ontario. I’m always looking for new places to explore, and I enjoy hearing how other people relate to their communities.

IMG_20130918_141852Specifically:

1. What is your favourite place to go to connect with nature?

2. What is your favourite place to go to connect with your community?

3. What is your favourite place to take children?

Please feel free to answer in the comments below, or by e-mail or facebook.

I look forward to hearing your responses!

Thank you!

Cathy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Question for YOU!

  1. We’re an outdoorsy family that loves exploring but I’m not going to stray too far or get too fancy in my choices. For me, it’s the places we visit every week, or more often, that hold the special place in my heart.
    1. Our favourite place to go to connect with nature is (relatively new to us but) we’ve been to the Nith River every weekend this spring/summer. The kids love the canoe because it lets them noiselessly observe the natural world, picnic somewhere different every time and have a kid focused adventure with our compete attention on them.
    2. We have an easy-go to find community. Brubacher Green is right beside our house and in nice weather it has a constant flow of kind and interested people. The fact that it is so small and hidden means you have to know it’s there, which has an undeniable sense of a clubhouse.
    3. Our favourite place to bring the kids remains, and probably always will be, the Walter Bean trail (where Victoria crosses the Grand). Matt and I went there on our first Kitchener date, he proposed to me there, we went there every weekend through snow, rain and bugs when we were raising our oldest in an apartment. There is a graffiti covered bridge, a canoe launch, loads of geocaches, winding trails, birds nests and fallen trees to climb on and talk about. Every year there is more and more development (BMW and storage lockers on one side and Breslau sprawl on the other) but the trail is so well cemented in our lives that it will always be our special place.

  2. Wonderful! We also have local “special” trails (you’re going to laugh….but we also have one where we went on both a first date and got engaged!).

    Isn’t geocaching fantastic for finding hidden greenspaces? We used to be avid geocachers, and I think now that littlest is more mobile we will probably take it up again. (There’s another blog post waiting to happen).

    It is my hope (and perhaps raison d’etre?) that by revealing the significance of these special places, and encouraging more people to develop a sense of place in local parks and greenspaces, they are less likely to be developed. I will have to check out your trail!

    Thanks for responding!!

  3. Uh-oh. You asked! My blog has a web page dedicated to one of my favorite outdoor places, and it’s not so terribly far from Southern Ontario, in the Northeastern Adirondacks. I call it Goldsmith, because it’s on Goldsmith Rd. in the extinct village of Goldsmith. The official name is Saranac River Public Use area of the Sable Highlands Conservation Easement (NY state web page: http://www.dec.ny.gov/lands/71173.html).

    My page on it provides connections to official resources and includes links to articles I’ve written about it, and I’m working on another one. http://thebalsamean.wordpress.com/goldsmith/

    I don’t have children, but it is highly suitable for them at all ages. An easy, flat 10 minute stroll (20 minutes for tykes and longer for people like me who take a lot of time standing still and looking at things … that meditative quality you mentioned) — or bike — in the forest to a riverbank campsite with picnic table, fireplace, tent space, outhouse (new and clean, as they go) and fishing platform. Reputed by state officials to be excellent trout waters … among the most productive in the state.

    And a few miles of other rambling trails in an interesting environment. However, some of them could be very difficult for children because of storm damage downed trees. The wide path to the campsite is maintained open for mobility impaired access.

    I have a couple of secret places on the river that are bushwhack-only accessible. They show up in my blog posts.

    Many wild blueberries from mid-July to mid-August! Especially across the street. It is adjacent to large parcels of state-owned land. I call it “my land.” (I think the national anthem should be Woodie Guthrie’s “This Land is Your Land.” http://youtu.be/XaI5IRuS2aE)

Leave a Reply

