Dear Winter

Dear Winter,

At first, I thought we had something special. When your gentle flakes first touched my cheeks, and your sparkling frost delicately covered the ground, I thought we were meant to be. My children played with you, building forts and snowmen, and sliding down hills with jubilant laughter.

When times started to get more difficult, I persisted in trying to make things work. In some of your darkest hours, I was able to find your beauty. I thought perhaps if I changed my attitude towards you, things between us would improve. I was wrong.

I have been trying too hard for too long. You have blanketed the whole community with negativity. I have grown tired of your constant tantrums and the intense coldness of your heart. I can no longer put up with your possessiveness, and your refusal to allow me to spend time with other seasons. I find you unreasonable. Being with you is simply too much work.

It’s time for you to go. Please pack up your things and leave as soon as possible. I sincerely hope that once we have had some time apart, I will be able to welcome you with open arms back into my life.

Sincerely,

Me

 Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear Winter

  1. Dear Cathy,

    I received your message to me only just this morning, delayed by a storm I sent to my ISP. Sorry to take so long to get back to you. (Not really.) I was also busy dumping an extension of the ski season in the Northeast U.S., a boost to the economies of those rural tourist areas, so they should be grateful even if you’re not.

    You wrote, “I thought perhaps if I changed my attitude towards you, things between us would improve.” Then you read me the riot act for just being myself like I’ve been for a million years. See now, there’s the problem. You expect me to change! Just like all relationships. You love ’em, then you want ’em to change. I’m on the verge of just giving up on love, even on my most lovely, wintry Valentines Days you all love to love snuggled by the fireplace looking out the window at the snow on the evergreens.

    So! You want me to leave!

    FINE!

    I’m going down-under to Australia to have a lot of fun! I don’t need you! Maybe I won’t even come back! See how you like THAT! So there! Nyah-nyah-nyah! Who you gonna call when Global Warming is smacking you and the kids around? Huh? Yeah, yeah, yeah … the snow is always whiter on the other side of the world.

    Fed up up-here, too,
    Winter

Leave a Reply

