On the Dangers of Going Outside

 

A beautiful, sunny, summer day

Should I go outside to play?

 

Not to the woods, I can’t leave the trail,

I might stub a toe, or break a nail.

Not in the field, there might be bees!

I could fall down if I climb the trees.

I can’t play ball, there is a sign

I could be charged a hefty fine.

 

“Put on your sunscreen !” “Carry your phone!”

“You’re not allowed to go out alone.”

“Avoid mosquitoes, they carry disease!”

“Don’t run on the pavement, you’ll skin your knees!”

 

 “And so,” says he….

“What’s on TV?”

 

        -Cathy McAllister 2011

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the Dangers of Going Outside

  1. eightdecades says:

    Hi Cathy
    I enjoyed your poem, we moved into the forest some 30 years ago when my kids were small. It took several years to get used to everything that wants a bite of you. But out went the kids into the deep dark woods. The city we moved from was by far more dangerous though and your poem rang so true, thanks for posting it and thanks for visiting my site.
    eightdecades!

    • Thanks for the comment! Glad you liked the poem.

      I have just started experimented with drawing in ink which is how I came across your work. It is lovely 🙂

      • eightdecades says:

        Thank you Cathy I started ink work as a child “1950” or so. It is a great skill to add to your talent. Just keep at it over the years as it will give great support to all the other work you do. I use a crow quill with india ink, a technical pen, and of course speedball points. a favorite is also Sheffield series points. I browse swap meets and garage sales for good finds in ink pens too.
        Keep at it and thanks again for looking at my site.
        eightdecades

      • Thanks for the tips! I will keep those in mind 🙂

Leave a Reply

